GATT Office Circular No. 247

ORGANIZATIONAL STRUCTURE OF THE SECRETARIAT AS OF 1 JANUARY 1981

- 1. Certain modifications in the organizational structure of the secretariat and consequential staff changes as described in the present circular and the annexed Organizational Chart will enter into effect as of 1 January 1981.
- 2. The overall management of the GATT secretariat shall be carried out through a General Directorate consisting of:

The Director-General

- Mr. M.G. Mathur, Deputy Director-General
- Mr. W.B. Kelly Jr., Deputy Director-General
- Mr. S.R. Pasin, Assistant Director-General
 - Mr. D. Hartridge, Chef de Cabinet of the Director-General, will act as Secretary of the General Directorate.
- 3. The Office of the Director-General will cease to exist. The Special Assistant to the Director-General, Mr. S.R. Pasin, becomes Assistant Director-General. Mr. D. Hartridge, Counsellor, becomes Chef de Cabinet.
- 4. In addition to the Textiles Surveillance Body, Chaired by Mr. P. Wurth, the following units will be attached directly to the Director-General:
 - (a) The Office of Legal Affairs, headed by Mr. H. van Tuinen, Director, Legal Affairs.
 - (b) The External Relations and Information Division, headed by Mr. J.M. Croome, Director.
 - (c) The Registry.
- 5. The secretariat will be divided into three Departments:
 - (a) Operational Department A
 - (b) Operational Department B
 - (c) Department of Conference Affairs and Administration.

- 6. Operational Department A, headed by Mr. M.G. Mathur, Deputy Director-General, will consist of the following units:
 - (a) Non-Tariff Measures Division, headed by Mr. Kautzor-Schröder, Director.
 - (b) Development Division, headed by Mr. R. Tooker, Director.
 - (c) Technical Co-operation Division, headed by Mr. O. Lopez-Noguerol, Director.
 - (d) Inter-Agency Affairs, headed by Mr. J. Kraus, Director.
 - (e) Special Projects Section, headed by Mr. M. Salib, Counsellor, Director of Special Projects.
- 7. Operational Department B, headed by Mr. W.B. Kelly Jr., Deputy Director-General, will consist of the following units:
 - (a) Economic Research and Analysis Unit, headed by Mr. J. Tumlir, Director.
 - (b) Agriculture Division, headed by Mr. J.-M. Lucq, Director.
 - (c) Tariff Division, headed by Mr. A. Lindén, Director.
 - (d) Technical and Other Barriers to Trade Division, headed by Mr. P. Williams, Director.
- 8. The Department of Conference Affairs and Administration, headed by Mr. S.R. Pasin, Assistant Director-General, will consist of the following units:
 - (a) Conference Affairs Division, headed by Mr. S. Robinson, Director.
 - (b) Administrative and Financial Division, headed by Mr. E. von Holzen, Director.
 - (c) Liaison and Documentation Division, headed by Mr. J. Tassin, Director, Assistant to the Head of the Department.
 - (d) Languages Division, headed by Mr. P.Y. Garaud, Director.
 - (e) Training Division, headed by Mr. D. Peart, Director.
 - (f) Personnel Section, headed by Mr. Y. Ogaard, Chief of Personnel.
- 9. The Conference Affairs Division shall consist of the following units:
 - (a) Conference Unit
 - (b) Interpretation Unit
 - (c) Archives and Monitoring Unit.

- 10. The Administrative and Financial <u>Division</u> will consist of the following units:
 - (a) Budget and Control Section
 - (b) Finance and Accounts Section
 - (c) Technical Services and Buildings Section
 - (d) Internal Services and Security Section
 - (e) Procurement Services
 - (f) Travel and Insurance Office.
- 11. The Liaison and Documentation <u>Division</u> will consist of the following units:
 - (a) Common System Affairs
 - (b) Documents Control Section
 - (c) Stenographic and Typing Section
 - (d) Documents Reproduction and Distribution Section
 - (e) Systems Analysis Unit.

A. Dunkel Director-General

